Written by Alan Hustak for VMO
Saturday, November 22nd, 2014
The stained glass window depicting St. Marguerite Bourgeoys, which has graced the entrance hall in a historic Notre-Dame-du-Vieux-Moulin Convent in Pointe Claire, will be removed this week and installed in the Mother House of the Congregation of Notre Dame on Sherbrooke and Atwater.
The window is the last object of any value in the historic convent, which closes its doors on December 1 when the last three nuns living there are scheduled to move out.
The window, depicting the congregation's founder, was designed in 1935 by Sister St. Rene and executed by the O'Shea glass works. Installed in the central corridor, it was the first thing you saw when you walked through the front doors. It is unique because it could be seen not only from inside the building but, because of the way the glass is backlit, could also be viewed through the chapel windows from the grounds outside, glowing in the heart of the convent.
Sisters of the Congregation of Notre Dame have been there for 230 years. They were given the site by St. Joachim Parish in 1787 provided they opened a girls school for the West Island community. The windmill on the grounds dates from 1709. In 1868, the present Notre-Dame-du-Vieux-Moulin convent was built to replace the original building. It was designed by Henri Maurice Perrault, the same architect responsible for Montreal's City Hall.
For the first time in two decades there won't be a Christmas concert this year at St. Patrick's Basilica.
The St. Patrick’s Society, which has sponsored the event since its inception in 1992, is reassessing a number of the events it sponsors, including the seasonal concert at the Basilica.
There are, however, other opportunities to discover and enjoy crowd pleasing Yuletide-themed programs.
St. Gabriel's has stepped up and will hold a parish benefit concert of its own at the church, 2157 Centre St. in Pointe St. Charles on Dec. 7 at 7 p.m. Terry Clahane and Lisa Forget are directing the close-knit Celtic community event. Tickets are $15.
This weekend’s Parish Vitality Conference at Mary Queen of the World Cathedral and the Nouvel Hotel aimed at bringing people back into the pews proved to be more successful than its organizers imagined possible.
More than 300 people registered for the Nov. 13-15 series of events, which featured workshops on how to stimulate participation in parish activities.
Bishop Thomas Dowd, who initiated the conference with support from Pillar’s Trust, described it as a contribution from the English-speaking diocese to the “whole sector, proof that we are one big happy diocese.”
A Joint Workshop of The Pontifical Academy of Sciences & Social Sciences and the Global Freedom Network took place this weekend to examine ways to combat global human trafficking. A joint statement by the group said that it is impossible to arrive at precise statistics of how many persons are trafficked because of the hidden and criminal nature of these abuses.
However, it is estimated that globally, despite the Palermo Protocol, there are about 21 million men, women, and children tricked, sold, coerced, or subjected to conditions of slavery in various forms and sectors while an annual increase of 3 million must be added to this figure. The Palermo Protocol supplements the United Nations Convention Against Transnational Organized Crime to prevent, suppress and punish trafficking in persons.
Paul Donovan, the former principal of Loyola High School, is the 2014 recipient of the Bishop Crowley Memorial Award. He was awarded the honour Friday evening at the Catholic Community Rally that took place within the context of the Parish Vitality Conference.
The Bishop Crowley Memorial award, which was created in 1983 and was conferred at the first Rally organized by the English Speaking Catholic Council is presented to a person, group or individual who has provided outstanding leadership in the English-speaking Catholic community.